THE USA

CAPITAL CITY: Washington D.C. (District of Columbia)

FORM OF GOVERNMENT: Federal Republic

50 STATES [48 contiguous + Alaska (1867) and Hawaii(1959)]

HIGHEST MOUNTAIN: Mount Denali (6190 m)

LONGEST RIVER: Missouri River (from Montana to Mississippi River in St. Louis)

MAJOR MOUNTAIN RANGE: Rocky Mountains (from Western Canada to New Mexico)

FIRST CAPITAL: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (1790-1800)

1776: Declaration of Independence (*The unanimous Declaration of the thirteen united States of America*)

Committee of five:

- John Adams (2nd president)
- Benjamin Franklin
- Thomas Jefferson (3rd president)
- Robert Livingston
- Roger Sherman

MOUNT RUSHMORE (Black Hills, South Dakota)

George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln —> birth, growth, development and preservation

FIRST 13 STATES: New Jersey,

Connecticut, New York,

Delaware, North Carolina,

Georgia, Pennsylvania,

Maryland, Rhode Island,

Massachusetts, South Carolina

New Hampshire, Virginia.